Awards given at the 2015 International Conference on HHV-6 & 7

Philip Pellett, PhD, of Wayne State University School of Medicine was awarded the HHV-6 Foundation’s Dharam Ablashi Lifetime Achievement Award.

Joshua Hill, MD, from the University of Washington was awarded the Caroline B. Hall Young Investigator Award. This award was established in 2013 in honor of Dr. Hall who did outstanding work on the epidemiology of HHV-6 in children, as well as important work on chromosomally integrated HHV-6, establishing for the first time that active HHV-6 virus can be passed from ciHHV-6 mothers to their fetuses transplacentally. Dr. Hill is continuing her tradition of excellence in clinical research. The 2013 recipient was Dr. Yoshiki Kawamura.

A new award called the Koichi Yamanishi Young Investigator Award for Excellence in Basic Science was created in 2015 to honor Dr. Yamanishi, who was the first to associate HHV-6 with roseola, and the author or co-author of over 150 papers on HHV-6. The awards committee recognized Dr. Bhupesh Prusty for this honor.